Spring and Spell-flowers

Spring has arrived here in the Perth hills with the most wonderful feast of colours. ‘Feast’ quite literally for me, as I like to add flower petals into my food, and do love the array of colours, scents and shapes filling the garden.

First, I’ll share one of many ‘flower snippets’ from Vow’s Answer, third novel in The Siaris Quartet, then you’re welcome to join me on a wander through the garden….

Riana’s fingertips settled around the hand of her newest student and adjusted his grip on the spell-flower he was constructing. “Watch the stabilizers you’re using, Eberrin. Angle them like this. In’hia emenn-ur.”
Her command tilted the flower’s outer spell-layer inward, pulling it a little closer around the shimmering sphere of healers in its center. White petals slid into place, and the heal-spell glowed a steady gold.

The furrows smoothed from Eberrin’s forehead. He expelled a loud breath and flicked back a blond Sorthirin lock. “I’ll need to practice that.”

Riana took in his crestfallen expression. “You’re doing well. The trick with these portable healers is to overconstruct the holding layer in the first instance so you’ve got a margin for error. We don’t want half the heal-spell leaking out from the petal joints.” She smiled. “Truly, Eberrin, by the time you next visit Sorth, you’ll be taking a good cluster of these with you.”

Eberrin’s face brightened at the prospect. Sorth, most southerly of the elden lands, most harassed by the Shadow Realm’s forces, was always in need of highly trained healers. What Eberrin currently lacked in skill was
more than compensated by his eager will to learn. He would start curbing the impatient choices he made with his craft simply because his desire to aid his people was so strong.

Riana laid a hand on his shoulder and straightened.

Eberrin cradled the spell-flower in his palms as if it were a prized treasure. “Thank you, Lady.” He dipped his head.

Riana nodded. “Never be shy to ask for help.” Her focus shifted across the beds of real flowers nodding under a west wind…

*****

…and from the garden, where a west wind is indeed now blowing very strongly, a wild profusion of nasturtians:

DSCF3257

DSCF3342

DSCF3343

DSCF3258

Freesia in full bloom, their delicious light perfume heavenly to breathe in:

DSCF3323

P1020066

DSCF3358

Blue Stars scattered through the green, Periwinkles and Anemones:

DSCF3333

DSCF3340

Intense droplets of colour, Coral Peas:

DSCF3330

Dripping sprays of Wonga Vine:

DSCF3157

Entwined with purple Hardenbergia, the Happy Wanderer:

DSCF2470

Flamboyant geraniums:

DSCF3165

DSCF3413

And vibrant native Grevillea, favourite of the Honey-eaters:

DSCF2631

 

To my friends here in the South, happy Spring! And to those in the North, may you enjoy a beautiful Autumn/Fall. 🙂

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Spring and Spell-flowers

  1. Such pretty photos! And the snippet from “Vow’s Answer” is beautiful 🙂 I have it on my Kindle and need to get stuck into it, it’s been a busy few months! Plus I need to re-skim “Reunion” as I read it so long ago I’ve forgotten some of the finer details. Can’t wait! Spring readathon 🙂 xxx

    Like

  2. I am just going back & reading some of the archived posts, dear SiStar Joanna….that was quite a journey through the beautiful garden, I could just smell the heavenly perfume of the Freesias,(the basis of my Wedding posy), feel the cool touch of the Periwinkles & Anemones, wonder at the beauty of the Hardenbergia (always wondered what the name of that plant was! Thanks!..lol…) admire my all time favourites, Geraniums/Pelargoniums, and I wonder…did you plant all of these? Oh to have been able to recognise all those opportunities from long ago….I did have a lovely thriving pot garden on my front porch, a beautiful family of Geraniums/Pelargoniums, but a heat wave then lots of rain did for them….they do really prefer a Mediterranean type climate…..I watch lots of gardening programmes, drinking in the skills of the gardeners etc……when I was living with my Grandparents from age 5 – 10-ish……my Gramps ( who is now my Gatekeeper) taught me much about gardening….in his small but beautiful 2 little squares out the front, surrounded with stunning, much admired, Golden Privet hedges, (it’s not a weed there!). I remember the small but beautiful Fuchsia tree just outside the front door, with the dancing ballerinas, all pretty purple skirts/legs surrounded by soft pink skirts….and the large square trellis of miniature purply/pink roses which cloaked the side path to the rubbish bin, the compost heap, all covered in the large leaves of the rhubarb plants, the only place to grow rhubarb, in his opinion…majestic they were! As you approached the front gate, the hedge grew on the left of the path, which created a secluded small square of soft grass, and garden beds, with a mix of perennials and Summer plantings,providing an endless changing view of the Seasons from the beautiful curves of the bay window….(the living room)….To the right a sunken square of bright green grass was surrounded by more perennials, and always, what I remembered, the Spring bulbs, Nodding yellow daffodils, the beautiful satiny shiny-ness of the different coloured Tulips, the sweet smelling Hyacinths, (my fave bulbs)…….I remember Summer days spent on the secluded square, playing with my friend,name forgotten in the pages of long ago….Whenever I am in my own little porch garden, my Gramps is with me…we whisper sweet nothings to the plants to encourage them to show us their flowers, sweet, heady perfume of the Moraya (?) shrub, struggling in its pot to be a grown up taller shrub, oh for some help to transplant…lol…Oh. My, what a trip you triggered in me, dear Joanna…Was not a good time in my life, back then, but what a healing the plants & Gramps provided for me….Thank you, my darling….what a journey you are on, yourself….I am in Awe….Love abounds around us, in so many ways….heals us all….I cannot wait to maybe see the new City of Light, in Sedona…..maybe I will meditate on this & ask to be taken there….now there’s a thought, see what you triggered? So grateful I am….so many wonderful things happening.
    Thanks for letting me prattle on…I Love you…
    Peace and Love xx
    Sylvia
    PS, I Loved the little exchange from the book, I am still exploring your talents/the site….it so resonated with me….xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow Sylvia, I’m so glad the flower photos inspired you! 🙂 Makes me happy. We have our ‘late summer miracle’ here at present, which is an amazing thing. While all other plants are conserving their energy after the long dry hot summer, the Marri trees (redgums) burst forth with crowns of creamy white blossom. How do they do it? They are a beautiful sight, and provide nourishment for so many birds, insects and small creatures at this toughest time of the year. A deep blessing they are.

      About the snippet from the book, i dreamed of such things often as a girl, healing scenes using flowers. And then went on to become a flower essence therapist later in life. I don’t practise it anymore, but still love and connect with flowers and their healing energies, just don’t need to make essences of them these days. 🙂 We do have a wonderful garden here, and most days I include something from the garden in food, even if it’s just a few leaves of mint. In the Spring, I do eat quite a lot of nasturtium and geranium flowers, so it’s fortunate there are thousands of them!

      Love and hugs. ❤ xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

